Inertia or Inability to Move

Inertia can be defined as the feeling of not having the energy or desire to move even when things need to get done. This is the perfect description of how I feel today and yesterday. How long does the feeling of inertia last? Good question. Inertial means you spend time on things like solitaire, netflicks, reading books without really absorbing them. I have walked around the house many times looking at things that need to be picked up or done. I just don’t feel like doing any of it. This does make me laugh because I am a life coach, in my real job I listen and nudge people into taking small actions to move them forward.

So why I am so stuck ? Maybe this is my neutral zone. A safe space where no one needs me to do something, where there is no urgent task that needs my attention. After dealing with hospitals and doctors, medications and air flights back to the hospital my normal tasks seem rather dull and unimportant. I want to get back to normal. What is the new normal?

I love hiking. I could go on a hike if someone came and got me, reminded me what to put in my back pack picked out the hike and made all the decisions. When I think about making decisions on optional activities , it just seems too complicated. I think I have the answer. My decision-making process has been overwhelmed and is now dormant. I have been unable to plan ahead for so long that I forgot how to make plans.

I am going back to a basic rule of doing 5 things every day. In this new improved plan you get to count: waking up, getting dressed, brushing your teeth. That plan sounds like a great way to take all pressure off. With no pressure to get “things”done I am hoping my decision-making process will creep back in on its own sweet time.

Today I accomplished writing this blog, going to the gym, picking rasberries, taking out the trash and heating up dinner.

 

3 thoughts on “Inertia or Inability to Move

  1. Val Boyko September 4, 2016 / 11:46 am

    I’m a life coach as well … and my hubby has stage 4 skin cancer which is now in his lungs. This is truly the lesson of my life on how to live, how to feel, how to let go … and how to love with all my heart.
    And yes – structuring the day is so important!

    Like

    • cancercaregiverweb September 20, 2016 / 10:09 pm

      HI Val
      thanks for sharing, it is a journey that calls out for loving and showing up no matter what the outcomes might be.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. cancercaregiverweb September 5, 2016 / 3:06 pm

    So interesting to be now your own coach on taking small actions every day that keep things simple while dealing with cancer in the house. This has enhanced my understanding of self compassion and self care in ways I could only talk about before, Now these needs are part of my inner feelings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

