What does half way mean?

unnamed

Are you climbing up the hill or picking your way down the other side? Is it easier to start the climb or to find your way back down to solid ground?

Half way done in the cancer world means you have completed 9 weeks of chemo and you have another 9 weeks to go. I do believe it is easier to deal with chemo when you have observed the results and can reasonably expect more of the same. Part of my new normal is don’t make plans in advance. Offer food, don’t expect it to be eaten, let him sleep, keep on a routine of my own. Be watchful, not hovering. Just show up.

For me I need to make the effort to be more social. Ask friends to meet me, go to the dinner alone. Bring back a plate and share the stories. I have to admit it is a relief to work out of town once a month. Just being in a different location lets me rest. When I am home I am too aware of how Lee feels, how long he sleeps or where his energy level lands.

For me, get outside, be happy to see him able to ski some days, appreciate that he can sleep when he needs to. I am happy to swim, to walk, to be able to work from home.

Practice self-care and pay attention to what I need, doing something for just me is still a work in progress. Maybe I am half way there too.

2 thoughts on “What does half way mean?

  1. Val Boyko December 20, 2016 / 2:57 am

    Yes – being tuned into their changing needs … and asking for what we need in order to replenish … is huge 💕💕

    Like

  2. cancercaregiverweb December 20, 2016 / 9:25 pm

    Thanks Val, it is a two way street when it comes to needs and asking each other where are we right now.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

