Reflections

thumb_img_0965_1024

I am not unhappy to see the end of 2016. There has been too much time spent in hospitals, too many days away from home, too many conversations with doctors, too many tears, too much uncertainty, too much focus on cancer.

What I learned in 2016

Life is uncertain

Friends are important

Showing up every day is the way to show your love

Cry in the shower or when outside

Joy comes in small moments when you look for it

What I hope for 2017

That I keep growing my emotional muscles, that I show up every day, that we share moments of joy and sit together in the dark times without having to talk about it.

I hope for Lee’s body to keep on fighting cancer cells and that his mind holds on to hope.

I hope that I am the best person I can be every day for myself, taking care of me so I will be here for the long haul. My words for the year include: gratitude, love, hope and courage.

2 thoughts on “Reflections

  1. Okoto Enigma December 31, 2016 / 4:40 pm

    I wish you the very best. I have Lee in my prayers πŸ™

    Like

  2. Val Boyko December 31, 2016 / 9:12 pm

    I love this reflection πŸ’›
    At the end of the day I know that its the little things that matter…. Simply sitting next to each other watching the birds. Holding hands. A warm touch. Him being here and strong enough now, so that I can get away to visit my family in Scotland and recharge πŸ’•

    Like

Leave a Reply

